Wonder: Where is my face? (2)

where is my real face (mid)

The panicked man wonders if his girlfriend has ever seen his real face. So he calls her up over the phone and asks. But instead of answering him, she shoots him another question:

“Is this your real voice?”

The man is shocked. “You mean the one you’re hearing now? Of course it’s my real voice!”

“No,” his girlfriend replies calmly. “what I’m hearing is the sound my phone creates, based on an electrical conversion of your voice. What I’m hearing is the sound my mind creates, based on the vibratory signals my ear receives from the air. I have never heard your real voice. Have you heard yours?”

*

The man hangs up, bewildered. Intellectually he knows that his real voice is the same as that of a one-handed clap. Yet no matter how hard he tries, he just can’t hear it.

Have you ever heard yours?

Leave a Reply

