Ask and you’ll be given

We sit silent suddenly
And I take a look at your face
And I see
That look on your face
A thought thus
Easy and uneasy
Slips into my mind
Real or perceived
I can’t tell
I can’t tell if it is
Real or perceived
So, the spinning goes
On and on until
I’m dizzy with terrifying palpitations
Finally, oh finally
I dare to ask:
“Did I say something wrong?”
Huh what, is your reply
Then a smile breaks on your face
It’s not you, you tell me
You didn’t say anything wrong
It’s just me, silly me,
I bit my own tongue a while ago.

And both of us smile in the new silence.

Leave a Reply

